Prof. DDr. Georg Kofler, LL.M. Prof. Ruth Mason Prof. Dr. Servatius van Thiel

Office:

Simone Löffler

Phone: +43 732 2468-8202 Mail: simone.loeffler@jku.at

## SECOND SYMPOSIUM ON EC TAX POLICY

Friday, 14 May 2010 — University of Linz, Austria

In 2008, New York University (NYU), the University of Connecticut and Johannes Kepler University Linz (JKU) cooperated to initiate a Series of Colloquia on European Tax Policy. The first symposium was hosted by New York University in 2008, and in 2010 the symposium will be hosted by Johannes Kepler University Linz in Austria. The 2010 symposium will deal with current and developing issues in the area of tax evasion, harmful tax competition, exchange of information and countering tax haven abuse.

09:00 - 09:15

Opening of the Conference

Richard Hagelauer, President, JKU Markus Achatz, Dean, JKU School of Law

09:15 - 09:30

Keynote Address

Paul Rübig, Member of the European Parliament

09:30 - 11:00

The International Battle Against Tax Fraud and Tax Evasion: Recent Developments

Chair

Michael Tumpel, JKU

Input Statement

Michael Lang, WU Vienna

Panel Discussion

Peter Altenburger, Altenburger Ltd Zürich Marco Felder, Liechtenstein Tax Administration Heinz Jirousek, Austrian Ministry of Finance

11:00 - 11:30

Coffee Break

11:30 - 13:00

The EU's Approach Towards Harmful Tax Competition and Tax Fraud

Chair

Tina Ehrke-Rabel, JKU

Input Statement

Servaas van Thiel, Council of Ministers

Panel Discussion

Georg Kofler, JKU

Alexander Rust, University of Luxembourg Gottfried Schellmann, Chairman of the CFE Fiscal Committee 13:00 - 14:30

Lunch Break

14:30 - 15:45

International Tax Developments in the United States: Fighting Tax Fraud and Tax Haven Abuse Chair

Georg Kofler, JKU

Input Statement

Lilian Faulhaber, Harvard Law School

Panelists

Peter Altenburger, Altenburger Ltd Zürich Walter Hellerstein, University of Georgia Ruth Mason, University of Connecticut Servaas van Thiel, Council of Ministers

15:45 – 16:15

Coffee Break

16:15 – 17:00

Closing Remarks

Markus Achatz, JKU Gottfried Schellmann, Chairman of the CFE Fiscal Committee

Servaas van Thiel, Council of Ministers

The Conference will take place at the University of Linz, Austria; the address is Altenbergerstrasse 69, 4040 Linz, Austria. — Participation is free of charge. — Please RSVP by e-mail until 15 April 2010 to *simone.loeffler@jku.at*. — Should you require assistance with your travel or accommodation arrangements, please do not hesitate to contact us at *simone.loeffler@jku.at*.